MusicianUniversity.com

Filed Under (Random, Random Thought, Songwriting) by Frank on 19-04-2008

Tagged Under : , , , ,

I’ve been considering signing up for a course with “MusicianUniversity.com” for the past few days. However, I’m kind of on the fence and would like some feedback from the public…

Has anyone taken a course with Musician University? If so, I’m looking to learn about your experience and your thoughts on the course you took.

I’m specifically interested in taking the course called: “Guitar Songwriting: writing Songs, Riffs and Chord Progressions

I’ve been working on the song for my wife (as it is known) and I have come to a road block with the progression / song… I’m not sure where to take it or what to do next. I’ve come up with a few things, but ultimately I simply don’t yet know enough to write a song — at least a song worth keeping. :-)  Anyway, this is why I’m interested in taking the course…

Pretty much any feedback or thoughts would help. Thank you in advance!

Quick follow up update:  tsubibo found this link: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080415072326AADYEe

The post is asking about a Better Business Bureau for the Netherlands, which is where MusicianUniversity.com is based out of. According to the post, the user has been trying to get a refund, presubmably because they didn’t feel that the services were to par.

If someone can counter this, I invite you to leave a comment at the bottom.

I am going to try to check out a local community college for what I’m looking for… I’d rather play it safe then waste valuable time and money…

Share and Enjoy:
  • Google
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • SphereIt
  • Reddit

Comments:

5 Responses to “MusicianUniversity.com”


  1. I’ve not seen anything bad written about them, but that doesn’t mean anything! Online learning seems to me to be the next big thing when it comes to guitar. No teacher feedback, but also no time limits.

    What I don’t know is whether a “course” will give you more than individual free webpages. That’s what’s always put me off. Having said that, these ones don’t seem *that* expensive, so may be worth a go.

    I’d be keen to hear how you get on with it if you enrol.

    A friend of mine did something through Berklee and thought it was great… I was going to suggest you check them out, too, but I nearly had a heart attack when I saw how much the course modules cost!!!! Wow!

    Kenski’s last blog post..Band Aid


  2. Hey Kenski,

    Thanks for the feedback.

    I’m sure that most of the information in the “course” could be obtained online… The thing with the course (which is more of an expectation) is that the course is organized for optimal learning and all the content is in one place.

    Also, that the information is explained in several different fashions to ensure that a broad variety of “customers”/”students” can understand it.

    I also hope that a teacher or instructor-type person is available, though I’m aware that there is a possibility that this isn’t the case.

    If I end up enrolling, feedback will appear here — I promise.

    Regarding Berklee [http://www.berklee.edu/], that was my first choice and I was very excited as I was collecting information from their site… But then I caught the price tag with the corner of my eye… As you implied… It is expensive (for those who don’t know, it costs upwards of $3,000 (USD) per course. I can not spend that on this hobby, no matter how much I like it… (however, I am glad to hear that it was “great” – it sounds like a wonderful learning institution.)

    Besides, I think I spent less on my college courses for my undergraduate degree…

    Regards,
    Frank

    Frank’s last blog post..MusicianUniversity.com


  3. Hello,

    I am thinking of taking a course at MusicianUniversity as well (though not the guitar courses). My main issue with it I can’t find any evidence that the site is a credible one — there’s no contact information, office location, people to trace the website to, nothing. The “reviews” on the website are one-liners anyone can whip up. I wouldn’t mind the lack of info on the site so much if there was anything I could find on the internet about actual people who’ve taken any of the courses and have shared their experiences, but I haven’t found anything much. Please do post your reviews when you’ve started taking the course.


  4. Hi again,

    I would advise you to wait until you’re sure the online course is credible. I just found this link and it raises my suspicions even more:
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080415072326AADYEej

    Also, the only things I’ve found through searching so far are people asking whether others have tried Musicians University. I really can’t find any reviews or anything.


  5. Hey there tsubibo,

    Thank you very much for the information. This is invaluable. I do appricate you taking the time to come back and post that link.

    I think I will be skipping this course. Perhaps a local community college offers something.

    Regards,
    Frank

    Frank’s last blog post..Jaws Theme

Leave a Reply